Submit immunization records to school
Minnesota Statute 121A.15 requires every student enrolled in school to be immunized against certain diseases or file a legal medical or non-medical exemption. This law includes students enrolled in public and non-public PreK programs, as well as childcare, preschool, alternative programs and home school programs.
Students will not be able to attend school if their immunizations are not in compliance in one of the following ways:
- Immunization record. The Immunization Form (or the Formulario de vacunaciones -español) can be used to document vaccinations and/or claim an exemption from the requirements for medical or non-medical exemptions. Schools will accept other versions of immunization records too as long as all required immunizations are listed.
- Medical exemptions must be signed by a health care provider.
- Non-medical exemptions must be signed by a parent/guardian and notarized.
Any time your child is due for an immunization, updated records showing compliance must be submitted to your child's school. Common times this occurs would be:
- Any new student moving into the district.
- All students entering kindergarten (including their five-year-old shots).
- All seventh graders who haven't yet turned in their immunization records for middle school.
- Any high school student who has received immunizations (meningococcal vaccination is due age 16-18).
Need to get your child immunized?
Check with your local clinic or medical provider or check out these local resources:
Washington County Department of Public Health also provides immunizations on a sliding fee scale. The Washington County Government Center is located at 14949 62nd Street North Stillwater, MN and provides reduced fee immunizations to persons enrolled in a Minnesota Health Care Program [MA, GAMC, MN Care or a PMAP] or persons who are uninsured or have insurance without vaccine coverage. There is a $12 administration fee per immunization. No one is refused service due to inability to pay. Local immunization clinics are typically held on the first Tuesday of each month. Call 651-430-4036 with questions.
Flu Clinic Information
Influenza season starts in the fall and goes until spring, with it typically peaking in February-March. Everyone age 6 months and older should get an annual flu vaccine. Find a flu clinic near you.
Students must have documentation of their immunization status for certain diseases in order to attend school, as required by state law.
Feeling sick. Stay home. This will help spread contagious illnesses, including COVID-19, and keep our kids learning in school.